Main Menu

Explore More

Quicklinks

Renton School District

Student Support

Student Support is framed around the well-being and the academic success of the child. Our job is to remove barriers and provide services that allow students to work towards their full potential in schools. 

Our services include:
  • 504 Plans
  • Academic Advancement Coordinators
  • Attendance Support
  • Bullying Prevention (HIB)
  • Counseling
  • Family Liasons
  • Social Emotional Learning
  • Suicide Prevention

Contacts

Victoria Blakeney

Director of Student Support
425.204.2429

 
Anna Vu

Administrative Assistant
425.204.2420

Bullying Prevention (HIB)

The Renton School District provides annual training on bullying prevention to all staff and students each year. Bullying allegations are taken very seriously. Students will be disciplined for harassing, intimidating, or bullying (HIB). Disciplinary actions range from conferences and peer mediation to suspension or expulsion, depending upon severity.

What is Bullying?

Washington State law defines harassment, intimidation, or bullying as any intentionally written message or image—including those that are electronically transmitted—verbal, or physical act, including but not limited to one shown to be motivated by race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, including gender expression or identity, mental or physical disability, or other distinguishing characteristics, when an act:

  • Physically harms a student or damages the student’s property.
  • Has the effect of substantially interfering with a student’s education.
  • Is so severe, persistent or pervasive that it creates an intimidating or threatening educational environment.
  • Has the effect of substantially disrupting the orderly operation of the school. 
  • Schools are required to take action if students report they are being bullied.

What should parents do if their child reports bullying to them at home?

Contact the school principal immediately. The principal will make sure there is an investigation and appropriate corrective action when necessary.

What if a parent wants to take further action?

Complete a HIB Reporting Form and return it to the main office of your child’s school. This will start a formal process which is outlined in our policy and procedures. Click on the links below to view the Renton School District policy, procedures, and the reporting form.

Where can parents and community members get more information on Harassment, Intimidation & Bullying Prevention?

Washington State Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) has a School Safety Center website with a lot of great resources and links: http://www.k12.wa.us/SafetyCenter/default.aspx 

The United States government has a website called Stop Bullying which also has free resources, webinars, and videos: http://www.stopbullying.gov/

Who can parents contact for more information in the Renton School District?

Vickie Blakeney

HIB Compliance Officer
Director, Student Support Services
Department of Learning and Teaching
victoria.blakeney@rentonschools.us
425-204-2429

Attendance

Attend Today, Achieve Tomorrow.

Students can suffer academically if they miss 10% (or just 18 days) of the school year: That's just one day every two weeks.

Research shows that missing 2-3 days a month can translate into third-graders unable to master reading, sixth-graders failing courses and, sometimes teens dropping out of high school.

Some absences are unavoidable. We understand that children will get sick and need to stay home occasionally. The important thing is to get students to school as often as possible and on time. Families should communicate with their school when students are absent.

Sporadic absences, not just those on consecutive days of school, matter. Before you know it – just one or two days a month can add up.

You can turn to your school for help. We offer services for the whole family, including those facing tough challenges related to access to health care, unstable housing, poor transportation or lack of food.

WHY IT MATTERS?

  1. Absenteeism in the first month of school can predict poor attendance throughout the school year. Half the students who miss 2-4 days in September go on to miss nearly a month of school.
  2. An estimated 5 million to 7.5 million U.S. students miss nearly a month of school each year.
  3. Absenteeism and its ill effects start early. One in 10 kindergarten and first grade students are chronically absent. Poor attendance can influence whether children read proficiently by the end of third grade or be held back.
  4. By 6th grade, chronic absence becomes a leading indicator that a student will drop out of high school.
  5. Research shows that missing 10 percent of the school, or about 18 days in most school districts, negatively affects a student’s academic performance. That’s just two days a month and that’s known as chronic absence.
  6. The academic impact of missing that much school is the same whether the absences are excused or unexcused. Suspensions also add to lost time in the classroom.
  7. Low-income students are four times more likely to be chronically absent than others often for reasons beyond their control, such as unstable housing, unreliable transportation and a lack of access to health care.
  8. When students improve their attendance rates, they improve their academic prospects and chances for graduating.
  9.  Attendance improves when schools engage students and parents in positive ways and when schools provide mentors for chronically absent students.
  10. Most school districts and states don’t look at all the right data to improve school attendance.They track how many students show up every day and how many are skipping school without an excuse, but not how many are missing so many days in excused and unexcused absence that they are headed off track academically.

WHAT IS GOOD ATTENDANCE?

Help Your Child Succeed in School: Build the habit of good attendance early. School success goes hand in hand with good attendance!
 

Did you know?

  • Starting in kindergarten, too many absences can cause children to fall behind in school. 
  • Missing 10 percent (or about 18 days) can make it harder to learn to read.
  • Students can still fall behind if they miss just a day or two days every few weeks.
  • Being late to school may lead to poor attendance.
  • Absences can affect the whole classroom if the teacher has to slow down learning to help children catch up.

Attending school regularly helps children feel better about school—and themselves. Start building this habit in preschool so they learn right away that going to school on time, every day is important. Good attendance will help children do well in high school, college, and at work. 

What you can do to set a regular bed time routine?

  • Lay out clothes and pack backpacks the night before.
  • Find out what day school starts and make sure your child has the required shots.
  • Introduce your child to her teachers and classmates before school starts to help her transition.
  • Don’t let your child stay home unless she is truly sick. Keep in mind complaints of a stomach ache or headache can be a sign of anxiety and not a reason to stay home.
  • If your child seems anxious about going to school, talk to teachers, school counselors, or other parents for advice on how to make her feel comfortable and excited about learning.
  • Develop back-up plans for getting to school if something comes up. Call on a family member, a neighbor, or another parent.
  • Avoid medical appointments and extended trips when school is in session.

Click here to see more resources for students and families.

ATTENDANCE IN EARLY GRADES

Chronic absenteeism is defined as missing 10% of the school year—about 18 days a year or just two days every month. Chronic absenteeism in kindergarten can predict lower test scores, poor attendance and retention in later grades, especially if the problem persists for more than a year. 

Click here to see more resources for students and families.

PRETEEN AND TEEN RESOURCES

Showing up for school has a huge impact on a student’s academic success starting in kindergarten and continuing through high school. Even as children grow older and more independent, families play a key role in making sure students get to school safely every day and understand why attendance is so important for success in school and on the job.

Did you Know?
Students should miss no more than 9 days of school each year to stay engaged, successful and on track to graduation.
Absences can be a sign that a student is losing interest in school, struggling with school work, dealing with a bully or facing some other potentially serious difficulty.

  • By 6th grade, absenteeism is one of three signs that a student may drop out of high school.
  • By 9th grade, regular and high attendance is a better predictor of graduation rates than 8th grade test scores.
  • Missing 10 percent, or about 18 days, of the school year can drastically affect a student’s academic success. 
  • Students can be chronically absent even if they only miss a day or two every few weeks.
  • Attendance is an important life skill that will help your child graduate from college and keep a job.

What You Can Do?


Make school attendance a priority
  • Talk about the importance of showing up to school everyday, make that the expectation.
  • Help your child maintain daily routines, such as finishing homework and getting a good night’s sleep.
  • Try not to schedule dental and medical appointments during the school day.
  • Don’t let your child stay home unless truly sick. Complaints of headaches or stomach aches may be signs of anxiety.
Help your teen stay engaged
  • Find out if your child feels engaged by his classes and feels safe from bullies and other threats. Make sure he/she is not missing class because of behavioral issues and school discipline policies. If any of these are problems, work with your school.
  • Stay on top of academic progress and seek help from teachers or tutors if necessary. Make sure teachers know how to contact you.
  • Stay on top of your child’s social contacts. Peer pressure can lead to skipping school, while students without many friends can feel isolated.
  • Encourage meaningful after-school activities, including sports and clubs.
Communicate with the school
  • Know the school’s attendance policy – incentives and penalties
  • Talk to teachers if you notice sudden changes in behavior. These could be tied to something going on at school.
  • Check on your child’s attendance to be sure absences are not piling up.
  • Ask for help from school officials, after-school programs, other parents or community agencies if you’re having trouble getting your child to school.

Click here to see more resources for students and families.

Family Attendance Pledge Letter

This year, Renton School District is making a special effort to ensure that all students fully benefit from their education by attending school regularly. Attending school regularly helps children feel better about school—and themselves. Consistent attendance will help children do well in high school, college, and at work.

Please take a minute to read this letter to your child(ren) and make a pledge together to attend school every day. Then, print, sign and have your child return this pledge to your school. Let's make school count, every day for every child!

Find a School Counselor

Elementary Schools

School N ame
Grade Level
School Counselor
Email
Benson Hill K-5 Tana Peterson tana.peterson@rentonschools.us
Bryn Mawr K-5 Lucero Alegre lucero.alegre@rentonschools.us
Campbell Hill K-5 Rykiel Eufeminiano rykiel.eufeminiano@rentonschools.us
Cascade K-5 Joe McPherson joe.mcpherson@rentonschools.us
Hazelwood K-5 Scott Jones scott.jones@rentonschools.us
Highlands K-5 Rebekah Appleton rebekah.appleton@rentonschools.us
Honey Dew K-5 Amber Franklin amber.franklin@rentonschools.us
Kennydale K-5 Kim Tran kim.tran@rentonschools.us
Lakeridge K-5 Angela Varela angela.varela@rentonschools.us
Maplewood Heights K-5 Mary-Jane Wyeth maryjane.wyeth@rentonschools.us
Renton Park K-5 Loura Williams loura.williams@rentonschools.us
Sartori K-5 Rekeda Rountree rekeda.rountree@rentonschools.us
Sierra Heights K-5 Angela Durham angela.durham@rentonschools.us
Talbot Hill K-5 Kate Bressan kate.bressan@rentonschools.us
Tiffany Park K-5 Julie Faulkner julie.faulkner@rentonschools.us

 

Middle School

 

School 
Grade
School Counselor
Email
Dimmitt MS 6 Scott Sturdivan scott.sturdivan@rentonschools.us
Dimmitt MS 7 Angela (Harumi) Sasao angela.sasao@rentonschools.us
Dimmitt MS 8 Young Chang-Miller young.changmiller@rentonschools.us
McKnight MS 6 Cathy Sheridan cathy.sheridan@rentonschools.us
McKnight MS 7 Keira Edwards keira.edwards@rentonschools.us
McKnight MS 8 Kurt Roper kurt.roper@rentonschools.us
Nelsen MS 6 Emily Gray emily.gray@rentonschools.us
Nelsen MS 7 Andrea Lehwalder-Phillips andrea.lehwalderphillips@rentonschools.us
Nelsen MS 8 Claudia Paul claudia.paul@rentonschools.us
Risdon MS 6 Maggi Kellogg maggi.kellogg@rentonschools.us
Risdon MS 7 Rondelle Jeffery rondelle.jeffery@rentonschools.us
Risdon MS 8 Sophia Simpson-Verger sophia.simpsonverger@rentonschools.us

High School

 

School
Student Last Name
School Counselor
Email
Hazen HS (A-E) Christi Leick christi.leick@rentonschools.us
Hazen HS (F-Li) Maria Muto maria.muto@rentonschools.us
Hazen HS (Lo-Ri) Brian Creeley brian.creeley@rentonschools.us
Hazen HS (Ro-Z) Honor Weihe honor.weihe@rentonschools.us
Lindbergh HS (A-E) Corbin Sheffels corbin.sheffels@rentonschools.us
Lindbergh HS (F-L) Beth Lumsden beth.lumsden@rentonschools.us
Lindbergh HS (M-R) Genie Fairhart genie.fairhart@rentonschools.us
Lindbergh HS (S-Z) Koy Saechao koy.saechao@rentonschools.us
Renton HS (A-D) Crystal Wetzel crystal.wetzel@rentonschools.us
Renton HS (E-L) Tim White tim.white@rentonschools.us
Renton HS (M-Ri) Tiffany Smith tiffany.smith@rentonschools.us
Renton HS (Ro-Z) Blaise Pike blaise.pike@rentonschools.us
Talley Sr. HS 9-12 Laura James laura.james@rentonschools.us
Griffin Home School K-12 Allison George allison.george@rentonschools.us
H.O.M.E. K-12 Kay Edgerton kay.edgerton@rentonschools.us
Renton Academy K-12 Allison George allison.george@rentonschools.us

504 Plans

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 is a federal civil rights law which prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities. It applies to any school which receives federal funds. The intent of this law is to provide students with disabilities equal access to educational programs, services, and activities. Students with disabilities may not be denied participation in school programs and activities solely on the basis of disability.

504 FAQs

What is a disability?

Students who meet the definition of a person with a disability under Section 504 are those who:

  • have a physical or mental impairment which substantially limits one or more major life activities;
  • have a record of such an impairment; or
  • are regarded as having such an impairment.

Section 504 defines a physical or mental impairment as any physiological disorder or condition, cosmetic disfigurement, or anatomical loss affecting one or more of the following body systems: neurological; musculoskeletal; special sense organs; respiratory, including speech organs; cardiovascular; reproductive; digestive; genito-urinary; hemic and lymphatic; skin; and endocrine; or any mental or psychological disorder, such as mental retardation, organic brain syndrome, emotional or mental illness, and specific learning disabilities.

What is a physical or mental impairment?

The regulation does not set forth a complete list of specific diseases and conditions that may constitute physical or mental impairments because of the difficulty of ensuring the comprehensiveness of such a list.

What is a major life activity?

The Section 504 definition includes - caring for one's self, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, and working. This list is not exhaustive. Other functions can be major life activities for purposes of Section 504.

Who determines eligibility?

Determining whether a student is a “qualified disabled student” under Section 504 begins with the evaluation process. Each district will have standards and procedures for initial evaluations. Staff often included in the process may include: teachers, school psychologist, counselor, nurse and/or principal - as well as the parent or guardian.

If a student is eligible, how are services provided?

Often a written plan is developed, commonly called a 504 Plan which details accommodations that will be made to ensure that the student has access to programs and activities.

What are accommodations?

Accommodations are program adjustments made to remove disability-related barriers so a student is able to fully participate in school- both academic and nonacademic activities. (i.e. preferential seating, adjust length of test, provide a behavior plan, modified P.E.).

What if my child’s teacher is not providing the accommodations listed on the 504 Plan?

The first step is to contact the teacher and ensure he/she is aware your child has a 504 Plan. If the teacher is not responsive, contact the 504 Coordinator assigned to your child’s school. If your concerns are not resolved, you may wish to contact your School District’s 504 Coordinator.

What is a 504 Coordinator?

Each school district is required to designate an employee who will be responsible for ensuring compliance with Section 504 regulations. Each school has a counselor that is the School 504 Coordinator, please contact your child’s school for contact information. The District 504 Coordinator is Victoria Blakeney; 425.204.2429

Can a student be dismissed from Section 504?

Yes - once a student no longer meets the eligibility requirements.

Who can I contact, other than my school district and OSPI to answer my questions about Section 504?

The U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights (OCR) enforces Section 504. OCR can also provide information and assistance. For more information contact:

U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights
Seattle Office
OCR, U.S. Department of Education
915 Second Avenue Room 3310
Seattle, WA 98174-1099
(206) 607-1600 TDD: 877-521-2172
Email: OCR.Seattle@ed.gov
Web site

Suicide & Safety

Suicide

Means Safety

Means Safety: Controlling access to potentially dangerous objects, including medication, firearms, poisons and other household items.

Means Safety and Crisis Intervention Toolkit

lockbox participating retailers