Declaration of Intent
In Washington State, parents who choose to home school their child(ren) must file a Declaration of Intent to Provide Home-Based Instruction form annually with the resident school district by September 15th of the new school year or within two weeks of the beginning of any public school quarter, trimester, or semester.
The requirements to either attend public or private school, or home school, affect any child 8 years of age and under 18 years of age, or any child who has previously been enrolled in any public school. For example, if a child is 5 years old and he or she attended a public school for preschool or kindergarten, a parent must file a declaration, even if the child is under the age of 8.
Please complete and submit the Declaration of Intent to Provide Home-Based Instruction form.
Parents are required to meet at least one of the qualifications below in order to home school their child(ren):
- Parent is supervised by a current certificated Washington State teacher, or
- Parent has earned at least 45 college-level credits, or
- Parent has completed a qualifying course in home-based instruction
Request for Part-time or Ancillary Services
Parents who have filed a declaration may request part-time enrollment and/or ancillary services with the resident school district. This can include specific courses, or other services, such as participation in annual state testing.
Please complete and submit the Request for Part-Time Attend or Ancillary Services form.
Renton School District does not provide or loan educational materials or equipment to home school families.
For more information see WA State's Laws Regulating Home-Based Instruction.
If you have further questions, please call Kayla Steckler at 425-204-2345.