Skip To Main Content

Main Menu

Explore More


Renton School District

Elementary Education

Elementary students on floor

In the Renton School District, we believe that in order to fulfill our mission of each student graduating with options and prepared to participate fully in our democracy, it is essential that students have access to a high quality, child-centered educational experience in elementary school. We are committed to each of our elementary schools providing a strong, equitable instructional program based on rigorous learning standards that engages students, recognizes their social-emotional needs, and partners with families and caregivers.

The Renton School District has 15 elementary schools. The "Renton 10" includes Benson Hill, Cascade, Hazelwood, Honey Dew, Kennydale, Maplewood Heights, Renton Park, Sierra Heights, Talbot Hill, and Tiffany Park. Chief of Elementary Schools, John Schmitz, supports the Renton 10, as well as Meadow Crest Early Learning Center, which hosts our ECEAP, Head Start, and Inclusive Preschool programs.

The other five elementary schools comprise The Renton Innovation Zone (RIZ): Bryn Mawr, Campbell Hill, Highlands, Lakeridge, and Sartori. Sartori is unique within  RIZ, as it is a STEM elementary school. Students who reside in Renton boundaries, but outside of the Sartori service area, may attend if selected via a lottery. Chief of School Improvement, Jessica Granger, supports the RIZ schools.

Our fifteen elementary schools will soon become sixteen when we welcome a new elementary school in the fall of 2023! The new school will open in the fast-growing Highlands/Sunset area of our district.


 H. john schmitz

Chief of Elementary Schools




Chief of School Improvement




Elisa "Saya" Benitez

Confidential Assistant


Phone: 425-204-2462