• Your teachers will use standards-based grading in your classes to provide you with feedback on your progress towards meeting the district-identified learning standards. In order to do this, you will be graded in three categories: Academic Standards, Effort, and Community Skills.

    Academic standards

    These learning standards represent the important knowledge and skills you will develop in each course. You will get specific feedback in 4-6 areas per class, to identify your strengths and where you need to continue to focus your efforts.

    Why is this important? Measuring your learning against a set of standards will show what you know and are able to do at each grade level, to make sure you are prepared to move forward.


    This will show how well you are prepared and follow class routines, homework completion, and your focus during class time.

    Why is this important? Working hard and putting forth effort will not only help you perform well on your assessments, but will also help you establish valuable work habits that will pay off for the rest of your lives.

    Community Skills

    This will show how well you are able to accept responsibility, show active listening skills, respect personal/public property and the voice of others, and how you value instructional time.

    Why is this important? Getting along with others, promoting a positive learning environment, and learning to work in diverse groups is critical to academic success and success in life.

    What Do All These Numbers Mean?

    Grade Marks


    Effort/Community Skills

    Exceeding Standards


    Meeting Standards


    Approaching Standards


    Attempting Standards


    Insufficient Evidence

    Not Assessed

    Modified Standard

    Your goal should always be to earn a 3 and then push yourself to continue to grow as a learner. You will have multiple chances to work towards earning a 3. Learning is process.

    If you have met the middle school standards, you can be confident you will be prepared for high school.