Understanding Power Standards

  • What is a Power Standard?

    Power Standards are the most essential standards for students to master, the most critical outcomes of their learning experience. Power Standards are "key learnings" that will prepare students for the next grade level. Teachers design their lessons to teach the skills and knowledge that students need to master the priority standards. Students are graded through assessments of their skills in each Power Standard.

    Why Power Standards?

    Power standards do not relieve teachers of the responsibility for teaching all standards and indicators, but do identify which standards are critical for student success and which ones can be given less emphasis.

    How are Power Standards determined?

    Power Standards were derived from state, national and international standards by teams of PreK - 12 Renton School District teachers, principals, and instructional coaches. Over 125 committee members consisting of teachers and administrators collaborated on English Language Arts (ELA), English Language Learners (ELL), Career and Technical Educate (CTE), Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and Technology.  The committees met several times in sub-groups to refine and prioritize the power standards.   

    The Criteria used to identify the Power Standards include:
    • Endurance: Standards that provide students with knowledge and skills beyond a single test date.
    • Leverage: Standards that provide knowledge and skills that will be valuable in multiple disciplines or content areas. For example, nonfiction writing prepares a student not only for writing but science, social studies, and more. 
    • Readiness: Standards that provide knowledge and skills for success in the next grade or level of instruction 
    Standards are reviewed and adjusted as needed on a yearly basis.